Amorphous and nanocrystalline alloys represent a unique materials group exhibiting better or new properties in comparison with traditional polycrystalline alloys. However, in many cases their application is limited due to small dimensions of the fabricated alloy as a consequence of the technological processes. Recently, a new types of alloys and new processing routes have appeared, enabling the production of amorphous and nanocrystalline alloys and their composites in a bulk form. It gives a new technological potential for novel applications.

Bulk amorphous alloys are produced from the liquid state by various casting techniques (bulk metallic glasses) or by compaction of amorphous powders obtained by atomisation method or mechanical alloying. This symposium covers the most recent developments in this area, including the influence of chemical composition on glass forming ability, thermodynamic aspects of glass formation, phase separation phenomena, possibility of amorphous powders compaction and crystallization processes.

The second main topic of the symposium is fabrication of bulk nanostructured materials by severe plastic deformation techniques or by compaction of nanocrystalline powders.

The symposium is also devoted to the recent progress in properties studies of bulk amorphous and nanocrystalline materials (alloys and composites), covering mechanical, magnetic, corrosion and other properties. Finally, some application aspects will be presented.


Selected topics:

- glass forming ability

- plasticity/ductility of bulk metallic glasses

- corrosion behavior

- soft magnetic properties of bulk metallic glasses

- crystallization processes

- compaction of amorphous powders into bulk form

- nanocrystalline ceramics

- phase separation in amorphous state

- amorphous/nanocrystalline composites

Tentative list of invited speakers:

A. Inoue, Tohoku University, Japan

L. Schulz, IFW Dresden, Germany

M. Umemoto, Toyohashi Univ. of Technology, Japan

D. H. Kim, Yonsei University, South Korea

B. Cantor, University of York, UK

A.Całka, University of Woolongong, Australia

D. Louzguine, Tohoku University, Japan

J. Loffler, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

E. Blanquet, Inst. National Polytechnique de Grenoble, France

K. Georgarakis, Inst. National Polytechnique de Grenoble, France

A. Gebert, IFW Dresden, Germany

M. Stoica, IFW Dresden, Germany

C. VolkertUniversity of Goettingen, Germany

M. Baricco, University di Torino, Italy

H. Fecht, Ulm University, Germany

L. Greer, University of Cambridge, UK

International Advisory Committee:

Jung Ho Ahn, South Korea

Michael Atzmon, USA

Maria-Dolores Baró, Spain

Tarek Benameur, Algeria

Rüdiger Bormann, Germany

Andrzej Całka, Australia

Brian Cantor, UK

Walter José Botta Filho, Brasil

A. Lindsay Greer, UK

Akihisa Inoue, Japan

Kenneth F. Kelton, USA

Uwe Köster, Germany

Tadesz Kulik, Poland

John Perepeczko, USA

Konrad Samwer, Germany

Robert Schulz, Canada

Alain Reza Yavari, France

Peter Svec, Slovakia

Jürgen Eckert, Germany

Jan Dutkiewicz, Poland

Zbigniew Bojar, Poland



Principal organizer:

Prof. Tadeusz Kulik

Faculty of Materials Science and Engineering

Warsaw University of Technology

Woloska 141, 02-507 Warsaw


Phone: +48 – 22 - 234 7424

Fax: +48 – 22 - 234 7140




Prof. Jürgen Eckert

IFW Dresden

Institut für Komplexe Materialien (IKM)

Postfach 27 01 16, D-01171 Dresden


Phone: +49 351 4659 602

Fax: +49 351 4659 452



Prof. Alain Reza Yavari

Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble

1130 rue de la Piscine

F-38402 Saint Martin d'Heres


Phone: +33 4 7682 4461

Fax: +33 4 7682 4461



Prof. Peter Svec

Department of Metal Physics

Slovak Academy of Sciences
Dubravska cesta 9, SK-845 11 Bratislava


Phone: +421 2 5941 0561

Fax: +421 2 5477 6085



Dr. Dariusz Oleszak (Scientific Secretary)

Faculty of Materials Science and Engineering

Warsaw University of Technology

Woloska 141, 02-507 Warsaw


Phone: +48 22 234 8408

Fax: +48 22 234 8514



The proceedings of this symposium will be published in physica status solidi (c), with selected papers in physica status solidi (a) and (b). All papers will be peer-reviewed.

The deadline for manuscript submission is September 18, 2009. Only on-line submission will be supported: go to http://conferences.wiley-vch.de and choose the proper journal (physica status solidi) and conference (E-MRS 2009 FM, Symposium H, author).

General instructions for using the on-line submission can be found here.

The manuscript preparation instructions and Word template are available  here.

The manuscript page limit for oral and poster presentations is 4, for invited papers - 6.