Abstract submission deadline: 11th May 2009


Spintronics is a branch of electronics taking advantage of both charge and spin of the electrons. The field started in the 1980s with the discovery of giant magnetoresistance in metallic multilayers. It is actively developing and has been expanded to various materials including semiconductors, nanotubes and graphene, molecular and polymeric materials.

Spin dependent transport has been the object of intense research since the demonstration of magnetoresistive effects in metallic multilayers and magnetic tunnel junctions. The field has evolved to the extent that commercial applications for magnetic recording and electronic memory are now available. This was celebrated in 2007 with the Nobel prize to Albert Fert and Peter Grunberg. In the last few years the range of materials used for spin-devices has witnessed a dramatic broadening. Among others silicon, graphene and organic semiconductors have recently focused considerable efforts of the community. This symposium will be focused on the experimental and theoretical aspects of various spintronic phenomena with particular emphasis on material issues.

Selected topics:

  • Fundamentals: new achievements and tendencies •
  • Semiconductor Spintronics •
  • Organic and Molecular Spintronics •
  • Multi-functional effects •
  • Spin dynamics •
  • Spin-torque •
  • Interface effects •
  • Devices and applications •
  • Industrial trends


Invited speakers:

  • Mike Coey -  Trinity College Dublin, Ireland - Plenary Lecture
  • Mirko Cinchetti - University of Kaiserslautern, Germany
  • Ilaria Bergenti -  ISMN, Bologna, Italy
  • Bart J. van Wees - University of Groningen, Netherlands
  • Arzhang Ardavan -  University of Oxford, UK
  • Pierre Seneor - CNRS Thales, Palaiseau, France
  • Peter Bobbert - TU Eindhoven, Netherlands
  • Chris Marrows -  University of Leeds, UK
  • Yongbing Xu -  University of York, UK
  • Alberta Bonanni   - Johannes Kepler University, Austria
  • Tomas Jungwirth - Institute of Physics, Czech Republic
  • Roberta Sessoli - Università di Firenze, Italy 


Chair: Valentin Alek DEDIU

Affiliation: Institute of Nanostructured Materials, Italian Council of Research, ISMN-CNR

 Address: Via Gobetti 101, 40129 Bologna, Italy Phone number: +390516398507 Fax number: +390516398540

 E-mail address: V.Dediu@bo.ismn.cnr.it

Chair: Stefano Sanvito

Affiliation: Trinity College Dublin

Address: Dublin 2, IRELAND Phone number: +353-1-8963065 Fax number: +353-1-6711759

E-mail address: sanvitos@tcd.ie

Chair: Luis E. Hueso

Affiliation: CIC nanoGUNE

Address: Mikeletegi Pasealekua 56, 301 E-20009 - Donostia (Spain) Phone number: +34 943 005383 Fax number: +34 943 021917

E-mail address: l.hueso@nanogune.eu


Dr. Valentin Alek DEDIU - Spintronic Devices Group 

Institute of Nanostructured Materials, ISMN-CNR

Via P.Gobetti 101, 40129 Bologna Italy

Tel +39-0516398507

Fax +39-0516398540





conference secretary: Gabriela Linkova 

ISMN - CNR, Via P.Gobetti 101, 40129 Bologna Italy

 Tel: +39-051-639-8507

Fax: +39-051-639-8540